ashes 2010-11

This block is broken or missing. You may be missing content or you might need to enable the original module.

And the 2010-11 Midwinter-Midwinter goes to...

Submitted by Rick Eyre on January 7 2011, 8:02 pm

The Ashes for 2010-11 have been won comprehensively by England. The one-sidedness of the contest is reflected in the final leaderboard for the Midwinter-Midwinter.

It's the fourth time that I have made this award, and for the first time, it's a tie. The joint winners of the 2010-11 Midwinter-Midwinter are Alastair Cook and Jimmy Anderson.

The First Test: A resounding draw to England.

Submitted by Rick Eyre on December 3 2010, 12:36 pm

In the immortal words of D.Bumble Lloyd, England flippin murdered Australia at The Gabba this week. And what a crushing demoralising draw it was.

Whatever else happened over the five days, the scoreline "517 for 1" at the end of the England second innings is all you need to know to understand how horrible an experience this has been for Australia.

Ashes Day Zero. We're There! Yet...

Submitted by Rick Eyre on November 25 2010, 10:40 am

It's called the ultimate challenge in world cricket. Not the ultimate fighting challenge, but the ultimate challenge nonetheless. Australia playing England in a five-game series of cricket matches that last a maximum of five days each. The trophy, a fragile and minute 125 year-old artifact - The Ashes - securely and permanently stored and displayed in London.